littlekiwi

believe in yourself

believe in yourself
littlekiwi, Feb 17, 2021
Description:
I hope that 2021 is the year I finally get a job in the disability sector. I’m not going to lie, its been a tough five years since I graduated with a Bachelor of Human Services majoring in Disability Studies. Some times I wonder whether it would have been easier and maybe better if I didn’t want to work but then that is not in my nature so I press on with every job application in the hope it will be the one. I am not going to lie, its been tough and grueling with all the highs and lows but each passing month in a way the rejections get easier to handle and I don’t go through quite as much of the rollercoaster of emotions like I did at the start. Maybe it is because I’ve lowered my expectations of the ‘ideal’ job and broadened my geographical search area, maybe it is is because on the whole I get a good number of interviews versus job applications, I don’t know. What isn’t any easier is the actual interview process. I am absolutely fine preparing for job interviews with all the behavioral interview questions and answers and generally do well in the actual interview. The problem for me comes when I am compared with applicants with ten, fifteen, twenty years relevant work experience after the interview. I never look forward to the phone calls with the feedback because I usually know what will be said and I know that there is not much I can do about it. All I can do is keep trying and hoping but gee I hope 2021 is when this job hunting rollercoaster can end as I’m not sure how much longer I can keep going.

Mixed Media Monthly June 2017 Difference/Grace/Accept
2016 Manifesto by Little Butterfly Wings
January is for planning by Little Butterfly Wings & Studio Basic
I am who I am by Allison Pennington
Work in Progress by Just Jaimee
DJB Tried My Best
mary kate and KarenB like this.
    • Angela Toucan
      great journaling, and fabulous artsy page
    • bellbird