What's the temp in your house?

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by joelsgirl, Jan 15, 2014.

1. joelsgirl

joelsgirl joelsgirl

SO I'm new to winter, having lived in the tropics for most of my adult life, and we're back in the States from Jan-June.

NOT my favorite time of the year, but I'm adjusting. I've been keeping our thermostat set to 73 during the day & 71 at night, and I'm surviving. I just hate walking around the house all bundled up! In the Philippines I strip down to barely there as soon as we walk in the door; I find clothes to be so cumbersome! :giggle

Anyway, we haven't gotten an electric bill yet, and I was wondering if my comfort is going to kill my budget. What do normal people keep the thermostat set at and what is a normal gas/electric bill?

2. MissKim

MissKim ichthyophobic

Oh Kellie, you crack me up. We set ours on 68 during the day. Sometimes we go up to 70 if it's really cold outside. At night it's at 65. However, in the early morning and later in the evening, you'll find me wrapped up in a blanket on the sofa. I love to pile on the blankets and wear my flannel PJs.

3. Angie4b1g

Angie4b1g A hundred jobs but Bob Villa ain't one

I prefer 73° but we keep it at 69° so that we can also afford to eat. But I'm pretty freezing. LOL. Everyone else seems fine though.

4. Karen

Karen Wiggle it, just a little bit!

Ours is usually around 68-70 during the day. When I remember I'll turn it down to 65ish at night. I love to sleep under a huge pile of blankets in the winter. :) I'm also known for wearing my wool socks and hoodies to keep cozy and warm (which I also love).

5. Nixenkind

Nixenkind Dreaming of boiling in Brisbane.

75. There are just things I don't compromise on, and temperature is definitely one of them ;). By the way: my husband constantly complains that it's too damn warm... and I'm still freezing. Honestly, my feet are ICE COLD!!! But just look at the name the naming fairy gave me, that says it all...

6. Peppermint