Week 1 | Challenge 2: Telling Stories using Macro or Detail Photos

Discussion in 'We Are Storytellers' started by yellowpeep, Jul 23, 2014.

1. yellowpeep

yellowpeep Spaaaarrrrrkkkleeeee

Hi All!
    I hope you're having fun playing along with the first week of our We Are Storytellers event at the Lilypad. We've given you some practice learning how to use a series of photos to tell a story, creative cropping and mastering your camera phone. Now, for our second challenge this week, we are focusing on using photos of details or macros to tell a story. I jumped at the chance to host this challenge because as a photographer I'm constantly seeking out details in both momentous and everyday events in my life. If you can collect the right details, they can tell a story without a single word being written. Here are some examples (when I gathered these, I realized that as a photographer, I personally have a strong pull toward images of hands to tell stories. For this challenge, you can use any subject you like, as long as it's a detail and tells a story.):

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Some tips for gathering the best detail or macro photos:
    1. Use a macro lens and/or the macro setting on your camera. The fixed focus will force you to look for smaller representations of the big story. (For more information about macro settings, visit these two blog posts here and here.) Also, see Amanda's example below for a clever macro attachment for your camera phone!
    2. Crop a smaller portion of a bigger image. Who says your image has to be a macro to begin with? Here's an example of a cropped macro from Julie (mrs2a50) where she had to crop out a beach bag and other distractions:

[​IMG]