Calling All Hybrid-ers

Discussion in 'Hybrid Pad' started by Trista, Sep 16, 2013.

1. Trista

Trista I'm Working On It

Hybrid-ers... it's a word! :giggle Work with me here!!

Give me your best tips for taking photos of your fabulous projects. I am especially interested in photo tips for project life/pocket page photos b/c I have the worst time with glare.

Help a sister out and I'll be your best friend. :flirty

:heartslub

2. carrottop

carrottop Member

I'm not an expert in either area, but I have done a few hybrid projects and I can share what I've learned from my mistakes...:whistle

First, turn off your flash. I never have great results when I try to take photos of my projects with it. I also try to take pictures mid-morning or shortly after dinner because the natural light I have available here is the best at those times. i also try to take photos near a window that has soft light coming thorough it rather than harsh. Open the drapes and let the light in. I place my object a few feet away and start snapping photos. Or, if the light is right, I take everything outside and shoot the pictures on patio. That usually happens on cloudy days around here. Use a tripod whenever you can, and if you can't for whatever reason, then try to set the camera on something else, like the table you are photographing your item on. Do whatever you can to eliminate camera shake.

Put something behind your object to keep the background from bring too busy, like a tablecloth, sheet, or a couple of sheets of cardstock. Use subtle or neutral solid colors. I've seen some people even use a patterned paper where the background color and pattern are subdued, and it looked great. A lot of cool shots I've seen also have fun props involved like an easel, a flower frog, vases, figurines in the shot with the hybrid item (I haven't used any myself yet, though).