Pink Reptile Designs | Check Out My Ride - Elements
https://the-lilypad.com/store/Check-Out-My-Ride-Elements.html
Pink Reptile Designs | Check Out My Ride - Papers
https://the-lilypad.com/store/Check-Out-My-Ride-Papers.html
font: Ambition & Ink, Bacana regular.
571 Words
--------------------
Journaling:
"My first car was a 1983 Nissan Sentra 2 door white sedan , standard shift with no A/C...It also just had a plain AM radio in it. The cost for the brand new car at that time was around $4,950 MSRP & probably closer to $5,200 after taxes and fees. I was 22 years old and purchasing my first new car, after I had been driving Mom's 1962 Starfire Oldsmobile for 4 years. My brother advised me I needed to park Mom's car on the side of the road. He said it was never to be driven again, as the upper control arm bushings were starting to rust, and there was a possibility of the engine falling out while driving. It was dangerous, and thus Mom's old car was put to rest.

At the time, I was working at Equitable Life Assurance (my first job) as a keypunch instruction coder. I had been working there only 3 years, so my salary was not very high. I was going to be taking a loan for 4 years on the car and I was scared to death of a car payment. I remember my BFF Mary, was buying one at the same time, and she too was not getting A/C or a better radio, as we really thought the $300 extra for the A/C was going to be too costly per month. [I literally thought I would not be able to go out and go anywhere for 4 years with a car payment, as I was not putting any money down to get it.]