At Home

At Home
littlekiwi, Feb 27, 2018
Description:
Scraplift of
[​IMG]

Main Street by Kristin Aagaard
Storyteller February 2018 by Just Jaimee
Date Stamp by Just Jaimee (unsure which storyteller collection though)
Perdiem by Sara Gleason

I had wanted to move to student accommodation in 2016 before starting my postgraduate studies but for whatever reason I wasn’t selected. I then realised quickly that the commute from home to Hamilton wouldn’t actually be that dissimilar to the commute to Epsom which I had been doing for 3 years so I ended up booking a whole lot of cheap bus fares for the two days a week I needed to be down there. By May I was well and truly over 13-14 hour days, buses being late from Wellington, missing my local bus home and having no taxis available that I started looking for flatting options down there. I hadn’t really been looking all that hard to be honest because if I didn’t find anything I would just continue commuting as I had done. However all that changed when one day I found the perfect flat with an older woman, nice and close to the bus to uni and within budget. I went down one Saturday and met with her and thought this is exactly the area I want to be in, its quiet, affordable and will reduce my stress and anxiety. Unfortunately while initially the flatting worked out, it only lasted a short while (not my decision) and I had to move to a place that I really didn’t love. In the end I realised I wasn’t coping and was burnt out by many things so after three months moved back home. If nothing else I soon learnt that while I wanted to move closer it was probably best for me in the future to move to somewhere on my own where I didn’t feel like someone was ‘watching my every move’ and where I could be independent
lcpereyra, KittyY and chastml like this.
    • ashleywb
      Gorgeous page! I love the stitched down tab and the colorful triangles under your photo. I hope eventually you will find a housing situation that meets your needs.