Suggestions for a newbie?

Discussion in 'Hybrid Pad' started by Kim S, Oct 19, 2020.

1. Kim S

Kim S New Member

Hi friends. I have been scrapping with paper for over 20 years. I started in HS and love it so much to this day. Hubby and I will be doing some extensive long term traveling in a couple years after we retire and I would like to downsize and work with more digital so I can keep scrapping then. I would like to find out more about this hybrid thing. However, I don't even know where to start. I bought a few items but now I think I need photoshop. I don't know how to get photoshop or how to use photoshop but I would really like to learn. Where and how did you all start? What photoshop do you use? How do you learn how to use it? Thanks for any suggestions you have on where to begin!

Karen likes this.
  2. KimJ

KimJ Did you check in the refrigerator?

Hi Kim! Welcome! There are a lot of programs that can be used for digital and hybrid scrapbooking. Photoshop Elements (aka PSE) and the full Photoshop Creative Cloud (PSCC) are some of the more popular ones. You can get a free trial of either at Adobe. You just need to set up an account. PSE is available here and PSCC here. (There's a free trial link to the left of the blue "buy now" button near the top right of each page.)

I use full Photoshop (now CC) because that's all I've ever known, but I know others love PSE as well. I started using PS long before I'd ever heard of digital scrapbooking. To get the basics down, I followed some simple lessons I found online, and then just gradually got more comfortable and picked up more skills over time. You could start with the support tutorials at Adobe to learn the mechanics of the program. (PSCC here or PSE here).