Pumpkins...

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by jdesai, Oct 26, 2011.

1. jdesai

jdesai Wonders what's in a name?

Show me if you've carved or decorated pumpkins for halloween/fall. I am not good at carving so DD and I decided to use paint colors, yarn, feathers and some pom pom balls. Here's what we ended up with. :)

[​IMG]

Let me know if you know of a good carving tutorial. I'd like to give it a try again next year.

2. nativescrapper

nativescrapper nativescrapper

those are cute! I havent carved a pumpkin in years. I just usually watch my brother with his little girls. But that is such a good idea.

3. Micheline Martin

Micheline Martin New Member

Suuuuuuuuuper cute hun, we painted ours too. I'll be back in a tiny bit to post them. I think they turned out really cute :)

ETA: here they are, both kids did everything themselves, except for cutting the holes to stick the mr. potato head stuff in
    [​IMG]
    Pardon the cruddy non professional picture lol

Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  4. HeatherB

HeatherB Ain't nothin wrong with a few dust bunnies!

Those are adorable Jenna! I think I might try that this year! :beat

I follow Pumpkin Masters style of carving, which is pretty simple. Cut a lid or a hole in the bottom. Carve out the innards, then tape a pattern onto the pumpkin. Trace it, using a poker, onto the pumpkin. Then cut from center outwards.

Here's a good (and short!) video showing the basic ideas and techniques:
    http://www.pumpkinmasters.com/video.asp

By no means am I a good pumpkin carver, but this is what we've done the last 2 years:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. MandaKay

MandaKay Loyal as they come.

Super cute you guys!!!

6. kimbytx

kimbytx New Member

those are so cute! We have not done ours yet. My husband usually carves them with a pattern or we have used the Mr. Potato Head faces or Light Bright type faces too.

7. Cristina

Cristina Handmade with love, actually

Wow, these are all adorable! And Heather!! :notworthy