Photoshop Elements Organizer

Discussion in 'Scrapping Pad' started by Lynnette, Mar 22, 2016.

1. Lynnette

Lynnette In my life, I've loved them all

I have been scrapping with Photoshop Elements for over 10 years now, but have never used the Organizer. For many years I used ACDSee for organizing my stash and even spent a lot of time tagging items and some photos. Long story short, I didn't keep it when I switched to a new computer just over a year ago and have just been using my file folders to keep things organized. Also back when using ACDSee, I started scanning my parents' family photos and adding the info (dates, people, etc.) into the metadata. This past month I got my act together to finally finish this big project and I needed to find a way to continue adding info into the metadata, so I found a you tube video on how to do this in the PSE Organizer and it worked really great. So that got me thinking, should I be using this for my own photos & scrapping stash? I'm curious, do any of you use it, and if so, what to you use it for and how do you use it? If I tag photos and other items is there a way to search within Organizer? I know, that's a lot of questions, but I'd appreciate any insights you might have, or even links to helpful tutorials. Thanks!

2. bestcee

bestcee In love with places I've never been to

I used PSE Organizer with 11 and 14. When it works, it's great. My problem was it crashed too much with both my scrap stuff and photos in it. My mom has the same problem with it crashing on 12 also. I know Adobe claims there's not a problem with the number of items. And Melissa Shanhun uses it with no problems, so I don't know if it's a computer spec thing or what. I know I only had about 40,000 items in it when it was crashing on me. My mom's catalog is much smaller - like 5,000 or so? And it will still crash. Oh, and don't move things outside of it once you've added. Otherwise it gets mad.