January 3 - Photography Challenge

Discussion in 'MOC 11 Challenges' started by dawnmarch, Jan 3, 2023.

1. dawnmarch

dawnmarch Actually, no. You are not funny!

January 3: Photography Challenge

Welcome to Day 3 of our Month of Challenges for 2023! I could not be more excited to be hosting my very first challenge ever as a Guest Polly!

As a photographer, I'm always looking for ways to give my photos more impact and one way to do that is with a composition technique called "leading lines." Leading lines are lines (such as paths, walls, roads, etc.) in your photo that draw your eye from one part of the frame to another -- usually drawing the viewer in from the foreground to the background (but not always; they can go sideways too!) Although this composition technique is often used in landscape photography, it can also be used in other types of photography. If you've ever seen a portrait of someone standing on the path of a railroad track, you've seen the effectiveness of leading lines. You can find tons of examples online if you want inspiration. I flipped through some of my own photos to find examples, old and new, film and digital, color and b&w:

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

And here is a page using one of the photos:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Photo Challenge requirements:
    The requirements are simple: take at least one photo with leading lines and scrap a page using the photo or photos. Since this is a photography challenge, your photo must be a new photo taken today or after today. The photo must be taken by you; using stock photos or photos taken by others will not be allowed for this challenge.

And, of course, the usual MOC guidelines apply:
    Your page must be a new page in order to count for the Month of Challenges. Your page must be posted in three places:
    1. Uploaded to the TLP Gallery (not an outside hosting site).