Facebook In-law Vent

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by MissKim, May 7, 2013.

1. MissKim

MissKim ichthyophobic

So my husband doesn't have Facebook. He barely uses the internet, usually to check sports scores. He's not a social person in real life and he thinks social media is stupid.

I have a Facebook account. It's my Facebook account. It's not one of those shared Kim-Dan Lund Facebook accounts, but my account. I'm a teacher and I'm careful what I post but it's my personal account.

My husband's family keeps posting pictures of my husband when he was 10 and wearing coke bottle glasses -- pictures that he would find embarrassing at best, if not humiliating -- and tagging me in them. Or my BIL posts pictures of his admittedly cute kids, and tags me in them.

I do not want to be tagged in pictures of my husband or his nieces or nephews. I do not want people clicking on my profile and... I don't know, seeing random photos of little children that are not mine? Or of my husband looking a fool? Not to mention that by tagging me in a photo of his children, my BIL now makes that photo visible to all my friends... and he doesn't know 99% of them.

I know I can untag and I do. Just spent a half hour doing it because a BIL and a SIL both went on a posting spree last night and I just figured out how to untag myself from a status (already have it so I can't be tagged without approving it). You'd think they'd realize that I'm untagging myself, but no, they just keep doing it.

I really want to send out a mass email/Facebook message and ask them to stop, but DH does not want me to rock the boat. So I just untag and seethe every time it happens.

Thank you for reading. I had to vent and I figured Facebook probably wasn't the place to do it. Especially with a wedding coming up on that side of the family in 2 weeks.

Edited to add: I do think my in-laws are very nice people and that they probably have no idea they're annoying me. Which probably makes it worse for me.