Digital Supply Organization for Art Journalers & Collage Artists

Discussion in 'Art Journaling' started by sbpoet, May 9, 2017.

1. sbpoet

sbpoet Well-Known Member

The week after iNSD I turn my attention from shopping, prioritizing, & budget-breaking to organizing my digital stash. I’ve been doing this for about six years now, and I still don’t have it down, so I thought a community discussion might be helpful.

It seems to me that digital scrapbookers have it easier than we do. I’m betting they organize by designer and/or shop and/or theme, and that’s it, since they tend to scrap with kits.

It’s much more complicated for me, since I pull from everywhere for my pages. My work tends to use elements from many different designers, shops, kits, museums, artists, & on & on. So how to find what I want on my several hard drives?

My solution at present (it tends to change) is storage, time, and energy intensive. If I didn’t want to post to galleries it might be simpler, but I do, so I need a system that allows me to search by shop and designer, as well as by element, or color, or theme, or . . .

How do you solve these dilemmas? How is your hard drive(s) organized? What have you found that works for you, and what doesn’t?

2. Rikki

Rikki Next I'm going to look up naughty limericks

Actually I do my AJ pages the same way I make regular scrapbook pages. I am definitely not a one-kit-scrapper and use stuff from all over the place. My organization is by designer, kits are in their own folders and I tag previews with colors, theme (if there is one), sometimes with shop and - if it is stuff that I would classify as typical AJ product - as such.

I don't think there is a big difference between AJ and "regular" scrapping in terms of how to approach them on the material side, so I treat them the same.

3. bestcee

bestcee In love with places I've never been to