MOC5- What did you learn?

Discussion in 'Month of Challenges FIVE - 2017' started by bellbird, Jan 29, 2017.

1. bellbird

bellbird Pollywog

Part of the beauty of the Pad and MOC for me is the learning process, and the light bulb moments especially!
    [​IMG]
    As someone, like a lot of us, that is self taught in Photoshop and has used a few versions of the program, I'm always learning little bits here and there about it, but I also love learning about page design and the creative process. What have you taken away from this year's MOC? Did you learn anything particular, a technique, a short-cut, an approach...?

The technique challenges have been some of my favourites in the past (& there are a lot of handy dandy tutorials in the perfectly named 'Tutorials' tab up the top in the blue banner there if you're ever looking for ideas). I haven't got to the sketching technique challenge yet but i love the look of it!

The lightbulb moment I had this year, quite by accident, while scrapping an early challenge was the benefit of 'groups' in Photoshop (i have CS6), and that, say you have a title of a zillion alphas, if you group them, you can apply a shadow or style to the whole group in one click (rather than to each individual alpha layer)! Or you can group paper layers together and same thing, just shadow the group... yes, I had no clue this was possible and it was a lightbulb, time saver moment (when i wanted to shadow something slightly differently for 'realism', i just pulled the layer out of the group)

2. Scrapping with Liz

Scrapping with Liz Crafts for days.

Making a sketch was so fun and something I had never tried.

I really liked the Drops Caps Challenge. It was a style I had never tried & I can see myself going back and doing it over & over again.

I also learned that I really like doing challenges. I haven't done a challenge in so long. It really helps me to keep the creative juices flowing & I'm going to try to participate in more throughout the year.