Do you garden? | Pad Patter 3.04.23

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by ArmyGrl, Mar 4, 2023.

1. ArmyGrl

ArmyGrl Merlot, Cab, Chard, Reisling - all 4 food groups!

I always wanted to garden, but never did. When I was a young Soldier in the early 90's, I bought like $200 worth of plants. I planted them in the little garden attached to my first level apartment. Later that year, a hot water heater on the third level broke - and flooded all apartments under it (including mine). We were moved into a new apartment that same day. Within two years, I was at a new duty station. Thus, I learned quickly to not invest in plants or things that cannot move with me from place to place.

In retirement I'd like to garden. My husband Don is in horticulture. When we met, he worked for the Missouri Botanical Garden, and now he works for Shaw Nature Reserve. So, he has lots of plant experience. BUT - being in gardens and responsible for their maintenance all day means he does not have the energy when he comes home to garden for us. If I want a garden at home - it's on me to do it :giggle. He definitely helps out though! But overall, I do yard maintenance and care.

This year we are going to do some vegetables in containers. We can't do more because we don't have a fenced in yard. We have six regular deer in our yard. Might be more this year after fawns are born. A garden = all you can eat salad bar.

With Spring in the Northern Hemisphere just around the corner, I have gardening on the mind! So, my questions for today are:

Do you garden?
    If yes, what do you grow?
    Do you have a big garden, small garden, or do container gardening?

umyesh and Sara like this.
  2. littlekiwi

littlekiwi I charge by the hour for anything before noon