Do you still use a camera other than your phone?

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by dawnmarch, Oct 3, 2022.

1. dawnmarch

dawnmarch Actually, no. You are not funny!

Phone cameras are amazing, of course, but I'm curious if anyone still shoots with other cameras:

1. Do you use a non-phone camera like a dSLR, point-and-shoot or (gasp!) even a film camera?
    2. I see some AMAZING phone photos online but I confess that I'm a way better photographer with almost any other kind of camera. Are you good a phone photography? What are your secrets? :D
    3. If you shoot with a non-phone camera, how do you decide when it's "worth it" to lug it along?

2. tkradtke

tkradtke Professional Brainstormer

1. YES!! The bulk of my photos are taken with my Canon R Mirrorless camera.
    2. I am not good at phone photos which leads to my answer above ^^ lol! (and I've even taken phone photography classes... sigh)
    3. I have decided that it is almost always worth it BUT part of this has to do with two things:
    • Mirrorless camera: my previous camera was the Canon 5d and that thing was HEAVY. Mirrorless is much lighter.
    • My camera strap: My 5d was a double whammy of being heavy and having a strap that eventually pulled on my neck (even though it was crossbody... it still got uncomfortable after a while). I switched my strap to my ML and it was fine... BUT when my strap finally fell apart I was forced to find a new one and I am sooooo glad that I did! I bought the Black Rapid Sling camera strap and my favorite part is the underarm stabilizer strap. That strap keeps the crossbody strap from ever touching your neck, let alone pull on it. I seriously forget I'm carrying it. I used to be able to handle only a couple of Disney days with my "big camera" before. This past March I carried my big camera all six days in the parks, never leaving it back at the hotel.