I applied for a new job. I have an interview. I am freaking out!!!

Discussion in 'Chatty Pad' started by weaselwatchr, Oct 16, 2021.

1. weaselwatchr

weaselwatchr Viva, Las Vegas!

Hey everyone! A little back story. I have worked at my current company for over 30 years. I am a pharmacist. The past few years have been terrible at work. Things are always getting busier, staffing issues, and more responsibilities while corporate just doesn’t seem to care. It is at the point where I am afraid I am going to make a mistake that may hurt someone.

On a whim, I applied to the hospital. This is not the first time I applied at another company. But this is the first time I actually got a response. I am freaking out! I basically have not interviewed in like 30 years since high school. I know I am going to be asked why I am wanting to leave my job after such a long time. I know why but I don’t want to sound like a whiner complaining about my company.

I honestly shouldn’t be freaking out. But I am. Anxiety sucks…

chastml and cfile like this.
  2. StefanieS

StefanieS Think it over, think it under

Wow, congrats - all the best for this new opportunity.
    you're going to fly through it!
    We are all cheering you on.

weaselwatchr likes this.
  3. keepscrappin

keepscrappin ScrapWithTheWind

Sometimes a change is just what you need. Crossing my fingers for you!

weaselwatchr likes this.
  4. rach3975

rach3975 Well-Known Member

Congrats and good luck! It sounds like it might be a really good change, scary as it is to start over. I can sort of relate--I've been with my current employer first as a volunteer and then as an employee since 2006. When I transitioned to working there, they already knew me so they offered me the job without me ever applying. My last real job applications and interviews were in 2002--I'm already freaking out about needing to do it all again in 2 years (when I finish a certification I'm working on).

weaselwatchr likes this.
  5. IntenseMagic