RGB or CMYK?

Discussion in 'Scrapping Pad' started by SharLamb, Feb 5, 2020.

1. SharLamb

SharLamb I should have been a Supreme

Which do you set Photoshop to? I don't quite get using one or the other (even after reading several Google responses), but I've been bothered that my colors on printed projects are not true to what I see on my screen. Browns take on a bluish tone. Black isn't pure black. etc. I just did a test. My cpu had been set to RGB. I switched it to CMYK, and there was no appreciable difference in the printed layouts. I also clicked to let the computer (adobe) control the colors. I am NOT a TECHIE, so this sort of thing is a total mystery to me.

I'm using PSCC on an iMac with an Epson ET-2760 (tank) printer.

TIA for any input.

2. A-M

A-M Not a lot of hustle in my hustle anymore

I use an Epson printer and always let Photoshop control the color not the printer. Also I have to always increase the brightness as mine always prints darker than I see on my screen. Unless you have a high tech monitor the colors printed will never completely match what is on the screen.
    I am sure my research came up with it is best to use RGB.

cfile likes this.
  3. bestcee

bestcee In love with places I've never been to

I keep my PSCC on RGB.
    RGB is screen output and CMYK is print output. The difference is light and whether it's additive or subtractive, but that's another topic.
    Unless you do a screen calibration, it's hard to match the colors on your screen to the print colors. I do find that letting Photoshop determine the colors instead of my printer helps get truer colors. I don't know if you've seen it, but that's here:
    https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/printing-color-management-photoshop1.html
    I don't know anything about calibrating a Mac monitor, but I bet apple has something about it? That might help if you still don't get the colors you want when Photoshop picks.

wvsandy, cfile and gonewiththewind like this.
  4. KimJ