Shooting in RAW

Discussion in 'Photography Pad' started by krscraps, Jun 12, 2018.

1. krscraps

krscraps I'm a nerd.

Who here shoots in RAW? Convince me it's better to shoot in RAW than jpeg.

Thanks!

2. Amson

Amson Yoo-hoo!

Me definitely. This is the only way that you have the ability to recover detail in shadows and highlights. Try taking a photo, with a lot of contrast, in both jpg and raw and you will see exactly what I mean. Let me know if you need any help. I've been shooting fully in raw for over 10 years now.

jenn mccabe, bestcee and bellbird like this.
  3. bellbird

bellbird Pollywog

What she said ^^^ (I shoot in both ( combo of large jpeg & small raw or vice versa, depending on location\event\light) - it eats thru the card space faster but I think of it as an insurance policy, some of my jpegs have not transferred well to my ehd well in the past (the odd one in a batch has had the glitch effect from one of last month s challenges for real) & I haven't always noticed before clearing the card, but the corresponding raw is always fine, so it's kind of my backup as well as a high contrast fix point for me

4. bellbird

bellbird Pollywog

(do you use lightroom or a program that can handle & process Raw files already? If so, it wouldn't be much of an extra step in scrapping your pics)

5. krscraps

krscraps I'm a nerd.

I use PSE but wouldn't be opposed to Lightroom CC

6. michelepixels

michelepixels A pun is not fully matured until it is full groan.

RAW means you have more latitude in processing your photos. Point and shoot cameras are getting smarter and smarter but they still can't read our minds and know exactly how we want our photos exposed. It will try to find a happy medium, but maybe we want the shadows in the background darker so our subject stands out, for example.