Cherylndesigns

Kim Jensen February Challenge

Kim Jensen February Challenge
Cherylndesigns, Feb 10, 2022
Description:
Did this ever stir up some old memories. I have never written about this experience before and as I wrote about it, I was terrified that this happened! But I was young and fearless then. Here's the journaling:

"It was a long time ago and I was driving home from the lake with
my young son who was about one. It was very hot and I didn’t have’’
AC. My son was asleep in his car seat in the back and I was also
fighting sleep. I wanted to pull over but hadn’t found a spot. All of
a sudden, I noticed a big truck following very closely behind us. I got
very scared and just kept driving. He kept following, very closely, and
started motioning for me to pull over. I finally did and he came up
to the car. I was really frightened by then, but he just asked if I was
okay. He said I seemed to have fallen asleep at the wheel and was all
over the road. He followed me, honking his horn, which I didn’t even
hear and tried to get me to pull over before I had a wreck. We got out
of the car, the 3 of us, and sat in the shade at a picnic table. He had
cold water in his truck and got us some. He stayed with us for about
an hour until he was convinced that I was awake. Then, he followed
us for as long as he could and when he had to turn off, we honked at
each other and waved. That was definitely a Random Act of
Kindness and one that I’ve, obviously, never forgotten."

I used Kim Jensen Woodland Friends, Capricious and Sweet American Summer. The car and truck pictures are from Pixabay, but I was driving a car like the one in the picture. That's actually a picture of my son that I extracted.
umyesh and LynnG like this.
    • michele hillam
      Wow, not many acts of kindness result in saving lives! What a great story and what a great person this driver was! It is nice to know he was willing to overlook his delivery schedule to help. Thank you for sharing your story with us!