sbpoet

I AM ANTIFA

I AM ANTIFA
sbpoet, Oct 5, 2020
Description:
I did this for a Facebook challenge from Annabel Ascher:

"Please repost this with your own photo and bio, including your reasons for being anti-fascist. If enough people do it should change the narrative! Let's not let these people paint anti-fascism the way they are!"

Since I am a digital art journaler, I decided to do mine in my own way. Elements are from Little Butterfly Wings, Sahin Designs, Tangie Baxter, and Vicki Robinson. The Statue of Liberty images are from the web.

Text:

I am Sharon, a 72-year-old white woman with pre-existing conditions. I haven’t had a haircut since January. I write poems, and do digital art journaling and collage. I spend too much time online. Before the pre-existing got me, I was a clinical social worker specializing in domestic violence & sexual assault, and later, worked with the seriously mentally ill.

I have moved often in my life, and have lived in Colorado, Montana, Minnesota, Washington State, and Alaska. I now live (isolate) in Montana with my (new!) husband, two cats, and one tiny Pomeranian. My professional life, and varied living experiences, have taught me to pay attention to both commonalities and differences.

I am Antifa, which means anti-facist. I believe Black Lives Matter. I grew up in a small Montana town, in the care of my grandmother, who took care to teach me that we are all cousins. As a teenager, I lived in St. Paul, Minnesota, and attended a large, wildly diverse high school, which reinforced that lesson. I believe that it matters that Black Lives Matter.

Quite young, I read Anne Frank’s Diary. Later, I learned of my father’s Air Force service, his time in a prisoner-of-war camp, and his determination that Naziism must never recur. In my twenties I discovered feminism and its relevance to my life.