Shadow Masters

Discussion in 'Scrapping Pad' started by littlekiwi, Apr 5, 2018.

1. littlekiwi

littlekiwi I charge by the hour for anything before noon

I have been amazed by everyone’s shadow work in the gallery particularly from @Isa Marks @sucali @MiekSter

How do you all get it so realistic? I love the types of shadows you would see on a paper sb page but don’t quite know how to do it. I feel like i’m a shadow newbie using the same shadow styles I always have even though I have many sets and PSE 15.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2018
    keepscrappin likes this.
  2. BevG

BevG If I can't remember it, it didn't happen

One thing that really helped me is learning what shadows look like. I found several tutorials online. There may even be a TLP blog post about them. The tutorial included tips for shadowing things close to the page (i.e. stickers) versus things that stick up (i.e. flowers). Shadows (and hence, lighting) are also important in photography. So learning about them helps both your photography and your scrapping.

One simple way to start is to start noticing shadows around you. Where is the light source (or are there multiple ones)? Is the light source strong or weak? Focused or diffused? Is the shadow edge defined or blurred? Is the shadow dark or light? What does the light do the object? Does the shadow enhance or distract? What does the shadow look like if parts of the object are curled up, stuck down, etc.?

p.s. And I am still shadow newbie too!!

3. keepscrappin

keepscrappin ScrapWithTheWind

Jennifer,

Mommyish has recently released some templates in her Dynamic shading series that have shadowing like the ladies you mentioned in the first post. These templates are an easy way to get the look without all the work. Those ladies are making custom shadows and or tweaking purchased shadow styles.