Photoshop Newbie

Discussion in 'Learning Pad' started by JenniferJ, Jan 22, 2017.

1. JenniferJ

JenniferJ Ain't nothing that a Krispy Kreme can't fix

Okay so I have been a Paint Shop Pro junkie every since I started digi-scrapping but it is getting harder and harder to find tutorials or new stuff to do on it so I have made the decision to try out Photo Shop since there are sooooo many fun tutorials and most folks use it over Paint Shop now BUT as I begin my search for obtaining this new to me design program I am feeling overwhelmed!!!!

Silly me thought it would be as simple as heading to the store and picking up "Photo Shop" but have found there are SO MANY to choose from and I have no clue what I need as a beginner! Can somebody steer me in the right direction? I need something for a newbie to Photo Shop that is on the affordable side because I have limited amount of funds to use so what I get is gonna have to amuse me for a while. Also where is the best place to purchase the program that you all most use to purchase your programs?

Thanks for any help in advance! :bk

2. barbaraj

barbaraj Well-Known Member

I have PhotoshopElements 11 and it does almost everything I want. I don't know if you can still buy it. Maybe someone knows of a link. You could also try PSE15 for 30 days free to see if you like this instead of the big, complex, confusing Photoshop itself. Unless you are very brave!

JenniferJ likes this.
  3. bcgal00

bcgal00 Say, "birdseed!"

Yes, I agree with Barbara. Photoshop Elements (PSE) should meet all your needs and can be bought unlike PS which you have to buy as a monthly subscription now, they don't sell stand-alone copies of it anymore (unless you find an older one CS6 or less but you will not be able to get updates or fixes when it goes glitchy in the future which can happen over time). The newest version of PSE is 15 but I think many here have vs 11 or 12. There are lots of tutorials online to watch.

JenniferJ likes this.