Iphone Pictures

Discussion in 'Scrapping Pad' started by scrpprgirl, Oct 15, 2017.

1. scrpprgirl

scrpprgirl New Member

I'm pretty new to digital scrapbooking so I'm not sure if this is a silly question. I noticed that when I open my iPhone pictures in PSE 12 all of the pictures are 72 ppi. Does that quality print out ok on a 12x12 layout? Do you change it to 300? I noticed that when I use my point and shoot they are 300 ppi. I use my iPhone 6s plus to take pictures all the time. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

2. scrappyjedi

scrappyjedi Patience you must have, my young padawan

First off, hello, and welcome to the Pad!

Second, yes, your iPhone photos should look just fine! I use iPhone photos on my pages all the time and have never had a problem. They may show as 72 ppi in program (and, yes, they actually are 72 ppi), but what matters most is the overall size in pixels. Photos from my iPhone are 2448 x 3264 pixels, and a pixel is a pixel no matter what the PPI of the image is.

What you have to be careful of is not to oversize the photo based on the PPI of your layout. For example, a 300 ppi layout has 300 pixels per inch, so you'd divide each dimension of the pixel size of your iPhone photo by 300 to get the max size of your photo in inches on a 300 ppi document. That works out to 8.16 x 10.88 inches. If you make the photo larger than that, it will start to look pixellated, but anything that size or smaller should be fine!

3. scrpprgirl

scrpprgirl New Member

Thank you so much for your reply. I swear I confuse myself sometimes. This truly is a wonderful community though.I just love to see how helpful everyone is and how lovely their pages are

GlazeFamily3 and HeatherB like this.
  4. Karen

Karen Wiggle it, just a little bit!

Welcome @scrpprgirl :) I'll echo what Melissa said. I use almost exclusively iPhone pictures on my layouts and they all look fine on 12x12 layouts. :)

cfile likes this.
  5. LoveItScrapIt